Cambridge International Advanced Level is one of the most recognised qualifications around the world. For over 50 years, A Levels have been accepted as proof of academic ability for entry to universities and institutes of higher education. A Levels are also important to employers who frequently demand A Levels as a condition of job entry.

Grading System

Subjects are graded A* through to E. Grade A* is awarded for the highest level of achievement, grade E for the lowest.

A Level icon


International A Level and AS Level have widespread international recognition as educational qualifications. This recognition is because:

  • International A and AS Level qualifications are recognised by universities as equivalent in value to UK A and AS Levels
  • Good grades at A and AS Level can result in one full year of advanced standing or credit at universities in the USA and Canada
  • Good A and AS Level grades are vital for admission to all the world’s major English-speaking universities and many non-English-speaking universities

Information Technology (Subject Code: 9626)

Information Technology (IT) is an applied subject that encourages learners to become effective and discerning users of IT. It helps them to develop a broad range of IT skills, knowledge and understanding. Students study the structure and use of IT systems within a wide range of organisations, including the use of a variety of computer networks. As a result, learners gain an understanding of IT system life cycles, and how these affect the workplace. They also learn about the wider impact of IT on society in general. At A Level, learners also studysimple programming for the web relevant to their own use of IT.

Scheme of Assessment

Candidates may choose to:

  • take all Advanced Level components in the same examination session leading to the full A Level.
  • follow a staged assessment route to the Advanced Level by taking the Advanced Subsidiary (AS) qualification in one examination session and complete the final Cambridge International A Level at a subsequent session within 13 months period.
  • take the Advanced Subsidiary (AS) qualification only.

Advanced Subsidiary Level (AS Level)

Paper Type Duration Maximum Mark Weight
1 Written 1 hr 45 mins 70 25%
2 Practical Test 2 hrs 30 mins 90 25%

Advanced Level (A Level)

In addition to Papers 1 and 2.

Paper Type Duration Maximum Mark Weight
3 Written 1 hr 45 mins 70 25%
4 Practical Test 2 hrs 30 mins 90 25%

All 4 papers will take place at FUTUREKIDS Computer Learning Center, by means of a CIE-set assessments, under controlled examination conditions. The documentation and printouts produced in the assessment will be externally marked by CAIE.

Examinations Schedule

Examinations are held in June and November each year with results issued in August and January respectively.

Curriculum Content

The curriculum content is set out in nineteen interrelated sections. These sections should be read as an integrated whole and not as a progression. The sections are as follows:

AS Level


  1. Data processing and information
  2. Hardware and software
  3. Monitoring and control
  4. Algorithm and flow charts
  5. eSecurity
  6. The digital divide
  7. Expert systems


  1. Spreadsheets
  2. Modelling
  3. Database and file concepts
  4. Sound and video editing

A2 Level


  1. IT in society
  2. New and emerging technologies
  3. Communication technology
  4. Project management
  5. System life cycle


  1. Mail merge
  2. Graphics creation
  3. Animation
  4. Programming for the web

For more detail, please visit the following link: CIE AL - Information Technology (9626)

Course Outline

Module Section(s) Covered Study Hours
AS Level
Module 1: Sound & Video Editing 11 12 (8 Lessons)
Module 2: Spreadsheets 8 12 (8 Lessons)
Module 3: Databases 10 15 (10 Lessons)
Module 4: Computer & Information Systems 1, 2, 3, 7 12 (8 Lessons)
Module 5: Network & Security 4, 5, 6, 9 12 (8 Lessons)
A2 Level (A-Level)
Module 6: Graphics & Animations 18, 19 15 (10 Lessons)
Module 7: Mail Merge & Web Programming 17, 20 21 (14 Lessons)
Module 8: How Organisation Use ICT 12, 13, 14 12 (8 Lessons)
Module 9: System Life Cycle & Porgect Management 15, 16 12 (8 Lessons)


Applicants should:

  • Either, have grade C or above in Information Communication Technology at IGCSE;
  • Or, have 4 point or above in Information Communication Technology at HKDSE;
  • Or, have a similar Professional IT qualification or equivalent;
  • Or, pass a written and practical entry test.

Schedule Detail

Please click on the following links for further detail about the schedule.